Open to Arkansas Residents Only

  1. Sybil Nash Abrams Award: $1,000/$400/$250. Poet is eligible for first prize once every five years. Poem must be historically accurate, original and unpublished. Enclose bibliography (not included in line count) on a separate page. First place winner ineligible to enter contest for four years thereafter. Subject: Arkansas women. Form: Any. Line limit: 60 – 100. Chair: Committee of winners from the past four years.

Open to PRA Members Only

  1. Rosa Zagnoni Marinoni Award: $50/$30/$20, HM $10/$10/$10. Subject: A Friend. Form: Free verse. Line limit: 36. Chair: Larry Witherspoon.
  2.  “3 Little Lines”: $25/$15/$10. Subject: Any. Form: Senryu, 5/7/5 syllables, unrhymed, about human nature. Line limit: 3. Chair: Fay Guinn.
  3.  Sestina Award: $45/$25/$15, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject: Any. Form: Sestina. Line limit: 39. Chair: Pat Laster.
  4.  Memories of Verna Lee: $25/$15/$10, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject: Any. Form: Minute. Line limit: 12. Chair: Roundtable Poets of Hot Springs.
  5.  Baker Nichols Award: $25/$15/$10. Subject: A Soldier. Form: Any. Line limit: 28. Chair: Freeda Baker Nichols.
  6.  The Crawford Lyric Contest: $25/$15/$10, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject¨ Any. Form: Lyric. Line Limit: 24. The poet names the form of lyric. Forms are usually sonnet, villanelle, ode, elegy, and some free verse that uses musical-sounding repetition. Poem requires good rhyme. Chair: John Crawford.
  7.  The River Poets of Batesville Award: $30/$20/$10. Subject: Hillbilly Psychology. Form: Any. Line limit: 32. Chair: The River Poets of Batesville/Dr. Marla Bennett, Pres.
  8.  Arkansas Weather: $75/$45/$35, HM $10/$10. Subject: The choice of any one of four seasons – “tall tale” must “fit” into 2020-2021 weather event(s). Form: Humorous Tall Tale. Line Limit: 32. Chair: Kate Lacy.
  9.  Crescent Moon. $25/$15/$10. Subject: Any. Form: Lune, 3 lines, 5 words in first line, 3 words in second line, 5 words in third line. Chair: Fay Guinn

Open to All Poets

  1.  Opal Jane & Harry O’Neal Memorial Award: $50/$35/$25, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject: Springtime. Form: Any. Line limit: 32. Chair: Ben H. O’Neal III.
  2.  Opal Jane & Harry O’Neal Humor Award: $50/$35/$25, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject: Games We Play. Form: Rhyming Couplet. Line limit: 32. Chair: Ben H. O’Neal III.
  3.  Sharp Award: $50/$30/$20, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject: Any. Form: Free verse. Line limit: 40. Chair: Cathy Moran.
  4.  River Market Poets Award: $25/$15/$10. Subject: Weather. Form: Free verse. Line limit: 36. Chair: River Market Poets.
  5.  L.C. Bridges Memorial Award: $50/$30/$20. Subject: Christian poetry. Form: Free verse. Line limit: 24. Chair: Pat Bridges.
  6.  Tom J. Smith Memorial Award: $50/$30/$20. Subject: Pets – dogs or cats (on companionship and unconditional love). Form: Any. Line limit: 24. Chair: Donna Smith.
  7.  “The Snowbound Year”: $50/$30/$20, HM $15/$10/$5. Subject: Snowbound in 2021 (humor or pathos). Form: Free verse. Line limit: 40. Chair: Rita Goodgame.
  8.  Humor Award: $50/$30/$20, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject: Anything with humor. Form: Any. Line limit: 32. Chair: Dennis Patton.
  9.  Winklebleck Memorial Award in memory of Mary Winklebleck: $25/$15/$10. Subject: Any. Form: Any. Line limit: 45. Chair: Barbara Blanks.
  10.  Two Rivers’ Poets of Fort Smith: $25/$15/$10, HM $5/$5. Subject: Nature’s beauty. Form: Any. Line limit: 40. Chair: Mary and Kitty Sangster.
  11.  Poets of the Pines Award: $25/$15/$10, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject: View through the window. Form: Rhymed. Line limit: 32. Chair: SAPOP.
  12.  That’s Life Award: $25/$15/$10. Subject: Music. Form: Free verse. Line limit: 32. Chair: Laura Bridges.
  13.  Jack Hubbard Memorial Award: $25/$15/$10, HM $5/$5/$5. Subject: Any. Form: Rhyming. Line limit: 24. Chair: Saline County Branch.
  14.  Florence Gibbs Memorial Award: $25/$15/$10. Subject: Any. Form: Any. Line limit: 36. Chair: Anna Noack.
  15.  Betty Heidelberger Memorial Award: $25/$15/$10. Subject: Any. Form: Any. Line limit: 36. Chair: Anna Noack.
  16.  Miriam S. Strauss Memorial Award: $25/$10/$5. Subject: Returning. Form: Free verse or any standard rhymed form (Sonnet, Villanelle, Pantoum, etc.). Line limit: 10 – 30. Chair: Russell H. Strauss.
  17.  Sonnet Award (in honor of Lewis Turco): $25/$15/$10. Subject: Any. Form: Any sonnet form (modern or traditional). Line limit: As required by sonnet form. Chair: Sandra Soli.
  18.  Gin Creek Award: $25/$15/$10. Subject: Any. Form: Limerick Sequence. Line limit: Minimum 15, Maximum 25. Chair: Gin Creek Poets


  1.  Mail all entries and fees in one envelope postmarked by August 15, 2021 to Laura Trigg, 6 Cobblestone Way, Little Rock, AR 72223
  2.  Non-members may enter all contests for which they are eligible for $15; members may enter for $10. Make check or money order payable to “PRA.”
  3.  Submit one typed Times New Roman (12) original, and one copy for each contest entered with no illustrations or embellishments on entries. Type number and name of award in upper left corner of both copies. On duplicate only, place name and address in upper right corner (labels accepted).
  4.  All poems must be original, unpublished work of the poet, and not under consideration for publication. PRA defines publication as having an ISBN or ISSN.
  5.  Submit only one poem in each contest. No poem may be entered in more than one contest.
  6.  No entries will be returned. All manuscripts will be destroyed.
  7.  Contest chairs are not necessarily judges.
  8.  Three honorable mentions will be awarded without prizes unless otherwise specified. Entries not following rules will be disqualified.