MP900422237Poets’ Roundtable of Arkansas (PRA) is a non-profit organization dedicated to the study of poetry. We exist to foster and encourage poets in the art, promote an appreciation of poetry in the community and to secure a fuller recognition of the works of contemporary poets in the state of Arkansas.

PRA offers monthly contests and branch critique groups. We also sponsor an annual spring workshop and celebrate National Poetry Day each October. Browse this site for more information about our contests, branches and annual workshops. If you still have questions, please refer to our Leadership page.

The PRA was founded on February 5, 1931, by seven women “determined to learn the fundamental, technical rules of regular good, readable poetry.” Josie Frazee Cappleman, Laura Lewellyn, Mrs. Fred Meredith, Mae Lorraine Bass, Stella Payne Crow, Marguerite Lanier Kaufman, and Ruth Arnold Leveck met in members’ homes around a dining table, calling themselves Round Table Poets.  The society’s current name was adopted on July 25, 1939. (For additional information look at this entry in the Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture.)

PRA is an affiliate member of the National Federation of State Poetry Societies (NFSPS). NFSPS is also a non-profit organization, focusing on “the importance of poetry with respect to national cultural heritage.”   Additional information may be located under EVENTS, at http://www.nfsps.com, and http://nfsps.us.

Like us on FaceBook!